shotsposa.blogg.se

Synology nas backblaze
Synology nas backblaze









synology nas backblaze synology nas backblaze

Where they are less able is the maleware/ransomware attacks, this is where a device becomes compromised & then your data is infected & subsequently encrypted effectively locking you out of your data, at this point you’d say great I’ll restore from my backup & that works well until you are locked out again because the files you restored were already infected just not encrypted, so you restore again but not from the live ‘backup’ but a earlier version & find the same thing happening again. This means they work very well with keeping a copy of your data either off site or on your nas & in sync on multiple systems if you wish & accidental deletion/file corruption is also easy to recover from with the versioning aspect. I've decided to sub to Backblaze at £70/year so I've just taken up their 15 day free trial, however it will probably take 15 days just to upload all the stuff on my MacBook!ĭropbox, onedrive & google drive are file sync mechanisms with versioning & cloud storage.

synology nas backblaze

I see that Synology are slowly releasing more of their 2023 models, so maybe they will soon be releasing the DS223+, and do they still do a 'Play' model? Not exactly sure what other versions they do. I've read bits about them playing 4K video, and routing your CCTV etc, but not sure how that works, and I don't do torrents or rip blurry discs etc. Whilst I think I only need it for its straight forward backup facility, i'm conscious that I may want it to do more o the future, however i'm still not really up to speed on what else they can do. If you see any use for that then think about whether you'll be annoyed by low specs.Thanks. Think of it less as a storage device and more as a mini-computer that you could potentially run Docker or whatever else on. I can live with it but I should have bought the higher model. It's got barely any RAM and it can do one thing at a time, slowly. However as soon as you try and do such things it becomes dog slow. Then I came to appreciate the potential of the thing, like using it to download torrents directly, which I do. I bought the DS220J so as to get storage (and its noise) out of my living room PC that powers the TV. Can I suggest that if there is any possibility you have ambition beyond simple storage, don't get a J model.











Synology nas backblaze